Sharing controls

By default, any team member can share their VMs publicly or with people outside the team. Admins can lock this down so that only admins (and the billing owner) decide how broadly team VMs are exposed.

Viewing settings

Run team settings to see the current sharing mode:

team settings
Team settings:
  vm-sharing: all-members

Changing the sharing mode

Only team admins and the billing owner can change sharing settings:

team settings vm-sharing <admins-only|all-members>

There are two modes:

  • all-members (default). Any team member can make a VM public (share set-public) and grant Web or Root access to external accounts (share add <vm> <email> [--root]).
  • admins-only. Regular members can no longer make VMs public or grant access to people outside the team. Only admins and the billing owner can.

Switching to admins-only:

team settings vm-sharing admins-only

Sharing a VM with the whole team (share add <vm> team) and granting the whole team Root access (share add <vm> team --root) are unaffected by this setting.

See the sharing docs for how the underlying share mechanisms work, and Team VMs for team-scoped sharing.